SACRPH’s Biennial Awards Competition

SACRPH announced its its 2017 award recipients at the 17th National Conference on Planning History, held in Cleveland, Ohio, on October 26-29, 2017. Thanks to all those who submitted nominations for these competitions. And, congratulations to all our prize winners (listed below). Please check back in April 2019 for details on how to apply for our next round of prizes (for work published between August 2017 and July 2019).

For lists of past winners, please click on the titles of the individual awards.


(for work published between August 2015 and July 2017)

Lewis Mumford Prize ($250)
Best book on American city and regional planning history.

Francesca Russello Ammon, Bulldozer: Demolition and Clearance of the Postwar Landscape (Yale University Press, 2016).

Catherine Bauer Wurster Prize ($250)
Best scholarly article on American city and regional planning history in any journal.

Brian D. Goldstein, “‘The Search for New Forms’: Black Power and the Making of the Postmodern City,” Journal of American History 103, no. 2 (September 2016): 375-399.

John Reps Prize ($250)
Best doctoral dissertation in American city and regional planning history.

Garrett Dash Nelson, “A Place Altogether: Planning and the Search for Unit Landscapes, 1816-1956” (Ph.D. diss., University of Wisconsin, 2016).


John Reps Prize ($250)
Best doctoral dissertation in American city and regional planning history.

Patrick Nugent, “The Urban Environmental Order: Planning and Politics on Staten Island, 1945-1984” (Ph.D. diss., George Washington University, 2016).


Journal of Planning History Prize ($100)
Best article published in the Journal of Planning History.

Jordan Stanger-Ross and the Landscapes of Injustice Research Collective, “Suspect Properties: The Vancouver Origins of the Forced Sale of Japanese-Canadian-owned Property, WWII” Journal of Planning History 15, no. 4 (November 2016): 271-289.

Honorable Mention
J. Mark Souther, “A US$35 Million ‘Hole in the Ground’: Metropolitan Fragmentation and Cleveland’s Unbuilt Downtown Subway,” Journal of Planning History 14, no. 3 (August 2015) 179-203.


Student Paper Prize ($100)
Best conference paper submitted by a full-time student to the 17th National Conference on Planning History.

Pedro A. Regalado, Yale University, “Fixed Capital:  Building Transition and Drug Capitalism in New York City, 1961-1997.”


Laurence Gerckens Prize ($250)
Awarded to a scholar-teacher who has demonstrated sustained teaching excellence and educational leadership in the field of planning history. Teaching excellence refers to the nominee’s influence in the classroom. Educational leadership involves, among other things, curriculum development, colleague and student mentoring, and pedagogical publishing.

June Manning Thomas, University of Michigan

4. STUDENT TRAVEL AWARDS (up to $250 each)
The Robert S. Birch Endowment supports the activities of students within SACRPH and helps fund travel to the conference for students whose proposals have been accepted by the program committee. Individual grants will not exceed $250.


Comments are closed.