The Society for American City and Regional Planning History invites submissions for its biennial awards competition.  Please visit our SACRPH Awards Competition Announcement for more information about how to submit a nomination for the various awards and to find lists of all past winners.  The nomination deadline is August 1, 2023, for submissions to be considered for our 2023 awards.  Our 2021 award winners can be found here.

SACRPH presents awards for scholarship on North American city and regional planning history in several categories, including the Lewis Mumford Prize for best book, the John Reps Prize for best dissertation and master’s thesis, the Catherine Bauer-Wurster prize for best article, and the Journal of Planning History Prize for best article published in that journal. For this year’s competition, we consider work published in the past two years (that is, between August 1, 2021, and July 31, 2023). We also award the Laurence Gerckens Prize to an outstanding teacher-scholar who has demonstrated sustained excellence in scholarship, teaching, and leadership in the field of planning history.

SACRPH will consider the relevance of the following factors when evaluating nominations of written work (published articles and books, as well as completed dissertations and theses):

  • Centrality of city and regional planning history in a North American context (inclusive of internationally comparative and transnational work);
  • Innovation in building upon scholarship that has been central to SACRPH, while also showing where future research might go;
  • Significance in moving beyond analysis of a single case study alone to also offer insights into larger patterns and historical phenomena;
  • Appropriately attentive to issues of diversity and equity (or produces new understandings of previously examined processes by making diversity or equity central to the analysis); and,
  • Accessible, engaging, and high-quality writing.

In accepting an award, the prize winner indicates their willingness to serve on a prize committee in the following award cycle. 


Comments are closed.