The Society for American City and Regional Planning History (SACRPH) is an interdisciplinary organization dedicated to promoting scholarship on the planning of cities and metropolitan regions over time, and to bridging the gap between the scholarly study of cities and the practice of urban planning. The organization’s members come from a range of professions and areas of interest, and include historians, architects, planners, environmentalists, landscape designers, public policy makers, preservationists, community organizers, and students and scholars from across the country and around the world. Incorporated in Ohio in 1986 as a not-for-profit and tax exempt organization, SACRPH collects dues and gifts which are tax-deductible. The Society is governed by a Board of Trustees, and serves approximately 300 members in the U.S. and abroad.

In addition to sponsoring the biennial National Conference on Planning History, the Society grants prizes and awards for outstanding accomplishments in American planning history, research, teaching, and publication; provides student research awards; produces a semi-annual newsletter; and publishes the quarterly Journal of Planning History.

Executive Officers

President: Nancy Kwak, University of California, San Diego
President-Elect: Marta Gutman, City College of New York
Past-President: D. Bradford Hunt, Newberry Library
Executive Secretary: John McCarthy, Robert Morris University
Treasurer: Walter Greason, Monmouth University and International Center for Metropolitan Growth
Ex Officio as
JPH Co-Editor: Nicholas Dagen Bloom, New York Institute of Technology
Ex Officio as JPH Co-Editor: Sonia Hirt, University of Georgia

Board Members

Alex Sayf Cummings, Georgia State University
Zaire Dinzey-Flores, Rutgers University
Stephanie Frank, University of Missouri-Kansas City
Evan Friss, James Madison University
Robert Freestone, University of New South Wales
Guadalupe García, Tulane University
Nick Lombardo, University of Toronto
Willow Lung-Amam, University of Maryland, College Park
Timothy Mennel, University of Chicago Press
Angel Nieves, Hamilton College
Rosemary Ndubuizu, Georgetown University
Elihu Rubin, Yale University
Stephanie Ryberg-Webster, Cleveland State University
J. Mark Souther, Cleveland State University
Sanjeev Vidyarthi, University of Illinois, Chicago

Former Presidents and Board Members

More than 75 individuals have served as board members and officers since SACRPH began more than a quarter century ago.  For a summary of the society’s founders, past presidents, and current and former directors, see this listing of the organization’s past leadership.

Contact Information

John McCarthy
Department of Social Sciences
470 Nicholson Center
Robert Morris University
6001 University Boulevard
Moon Township, PA 15108
(412) 397-5412

For questions or comments about the website, please contact the Webmaster.


One Response to About